Euro Parliament Approves Visa-Free Schengen Travel for Georgia

Anticipated for a long time, the preliminary approval on visa- free regime for Georgia was given in December 2016 while on 2nd of February 2017 European lawmakers have ratified the visa liberalization, with a vote of 553 to 66 and 28 abstentions.

EU diplomats have stated that the final European Parliament vote is expected at the next plenary session, on February 13-16, and that EU member states are poised to agree on it on February 27 or 28.

Georgians are likely to be able to travel short-term visa-free to the Schengen area starting in late March or early April. Under this new law, Georgians who hold a biometric passport will have the right to enter the EU without requiring a visa for stays up to 90 days in any 180-day period, be it for business, tourist or family purposes, but not to work.

The visa waiver applies to the Schengen area, which includes 22 EU member states (all except Ireland, the UK, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania and Bulgaria), plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Irina Lopatina
Executive Administrator/Accountant
Tbilisi, Georgia